Linus Leonardsson Fall/Winter 2021 – Let There Be Light

Presented under the British Fashion Council’s DiscoveryLAB programme at London Fashion Week February 2021 in collaboration with TONI&GUY, Swedish designer Linus Leonardsson’s Let There Be Light is just what the covid vaccinated doctors ordered for F/W21.

Full of psychedelic promise and eccentric hope, expanding onward into the digital realm where anything and everything is possible. With a concept steeped in creation, namely, the necessity of constructing dreamscapes and utopias in one’s own mind when sheltered from impressions from the outside world. @linusleonardsson 

Call it daydreaming or escapism, but envisioning a better world is a necessity to bring ourselves and our communities forward. Within  utopia exists dystopia, which leads to Leonardsson’s interpretation of the word. Having experienced the outside world mainly through a display of pixels during the course of the pandemic, they saw endless possibilities of self-expression and communication with the entire world all at once through modern technology.

Recycled synthetic jerseys with otherworldly shine, reprocessed polyester cords crocheted into statuary constructions and tight, figure-hugging superhero-like pattern constructions all tell the story of a digital utopia where everyone can envision their own dreams, while duvet inspired puffer jackets, up-cycled floral bedsheets and dead-stock yarn crocheted into soft helmet-like hats portray the domestic contradiction which protects the dreamscape.

The collection also references past ideas of utopia, in specific the 60’s space age and its hopeful look on the future, including its problematic undertones. For example, the launch of blissfully
ignorant mass production, the emerge of hedonistic flower power and its contrast to absurd traditional core family values promising unachievable happiness to the masses.

Maximalist prints reference this époque but have been achieved entirely digitally as a contemporary interpretation, while the box-like pleated constructions and dripping bust seams are a nod to fashion
visionaries of the time.

In line with the ethos of Linus Leonardsson, “Let There Be Light” presents a gender non-con
forming collection where the lines of female and male wardrobes are diffused into nonexistence,
all with the help of Scandinavian maximalism and hysteric glamour. Furthermore, the collection is
made entirely out of recycled, dead-stock, up-cycled or low-emission fabrics and materials from
European sources. After all, in order to achieve the future utopia of our dreams, we must first take care of the world of today.

There’s also a super trippy, far-out visual to give us a welcomed up close and personal look at Leonardsson’s latest offerings, with a side of nausea to boot. If you don’t need to lie down and focus on the corner of a room after checking out a new collection are you even doing fashion week?

 

Fashion by Linus Leonardsson / www.linusleonardsson.com / Instagram: @linusleonardsson
Film creative direction by Lineta Līduma / www.linetaliduma.com / Instagram: @linetaliduma
Photography, videography and editing by Anna Rosova / www.annarosova.com / @anna.rosova
Main editing by Will Meighan / www.willmeighan.com / Instagram: @willmeighan
Styling and casting direction by Marko Vrbos / www.markovrbos.com / Instagram: @marko_vrbos
Poetry by Caroline Krager / www.carolinekrager.com / Instagram: @carolinekrager
Music by Tomasz Goliński / www.tomaszgolinski.com / Instagram: @tomaszgolinski_composer
Make up by David Gillers / Instagram: @jnx_mua
Hair by TONI&GUY artistic directors Elle Page and Sanja Mandusic using label.m /
www.toniandguy.com / Instagram: @toniandguyworld @ellepage__ and @sanjamandusic
Photography and videography assistance by Callum Su / www.callumsu.com / Instagram: @callumsoup
Styling assistance by Bruno Lachica / Instagram: @brunolachica
Narration by Rūta Rozenfelde
Modeled by Calm / Instagram: @calmzulu
Modeled by Josh at Zen Agency / www.zen-agency.co.uk / Instagram: @_.jdjosh @zen_agency
Modeled by SiuHei at Contact Agency / www.contact.xyz / Instagram: @siuhei_dd @contact.models