The Bug 2 by Fabrice Bourgelle 2014

The Bug – Video Exclusive!

”Mi Lost” (feat. Miss Red). KALTBLUT Video Exclusive: This dubby, grit-fuelled sonic assault ft. Miss Red is taken from The Bug’s current album ‘Angels & Devils’ (Ninja Tune) which features the likes of Death Grips, Warrior Queen and copeland to name but a few. For this album Kevin Martin has both enlisted the familiar and smashed open the idea of what The Bug is. The video was shot in Haifa City (a sleepy and almost neglected city in the north of Israel) with the help and support of the local crew. “The Inspiration behind the song and video is the feeling of living and being a part of the small community Haifa but wanting more from life.” Miss Red explains. The official video was streamed Internationally via Wondering Sound yesterday but sadly blocked for Germany. We say fuck GEMA—stream the vid right now via vimeo below:

The Bug first came to be in 1997, when Kevin collaborated with DJ Vadim on ‘Tapping The Conversation’. Released on N.Y’s Word Sound label, it was conceived as an alternate soundtrack to Coppola’s ‘The Conversation’. The main mutation of producer Kevin Martin who over the years has been, and is also currently, known as… King Midas Sound, Techno Animal/Ice/God (with Justin Broadrick of Godflesh/Jesu), Razor X Productions (with The Rootsman & various M.C’s), Pressure, Ladybug, the man behind Pathological Records, has provided bass booming remixes for Grace Jones, Thom Yorke, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Primal Scream, Einsturzende Neubauten, Stina Nordenstam, Dalek, Two Fingers, Beastie Boys, etc… really far too many to list here all of which shouts loud that Kevin Martin is a credible sonic originator and not some come-lately producer.

“It’s after the end of the world, don’t you know that yet…”

With the Angel side(s) up first, things kick off with Liz Harris (of Grouper) in the submerged lushness that is “Void”. Followed by contributions from ex Hype Wiliams half copeland (‘Fall’), the blissed out patois of touring partner Miss Red (Mi Lost), two truly zoned Bug instrumentals, and rounded out by Gonjasufi on “Save Me”. It’s a collection of heady, dubbed out cinematic blissfulness with a lurking darkness before giving way to devils…

Devils leads off with the return of long time collaborator Flowdan on the mic and the guitar of Justin Broadrick (Godflesh / Jesu) bringing a complete about face to the proceedings and setting the tone with “The One”. Roll Deep’s Manga steps up next with the instant Bug classic “Function”, which is being currently smashed on dubplate, by Mala, Kahn and Logan Sama. Death Grips raise the antagonistic bar with Fuck A Bitch. Flowdan & Justin Broadrick come back for the cinematic death crawl of Fat Mac. Warrior Queen steps in for hands down the nastiest vocal she’s ever delivered (which is saying a lot) for “Fuck You”, and finally Flowdan steps up again to round it all off with a Devils battle cry of sorts “dirty, fuck that murky…”.


“Mi Lost” (feat. Miss Red) is taken from the current The Bug album “Angels & Devils” that’s been released via Ninja Tune.

1. Void (ft Liz Harris)
2. Fall (ft copeland)
3. Ascension
4. Mi Lost (ft Miss Red)
5. Pandi
6. Save Me (ft Gonjasufi)
7. The One (ft Flowdan)
8. Function (ft Manga)
9. Fuck a Bitch (ft Death Grips)
10. Fat Mac (ft Flowdan)
11. Fuck You (ft Warrior Queen)
12. Dirty (ft Flowdan)

You can buy it now on iTunes, Ninjashop and Amazon.