Press Play: Kelly Lee Owens – ‘Anxi’

Photo by Gaelle Beri

Kelly Lee Owens, the 28-year old London-based producer, is set to release her self-titled debut album, this Friday, March 24th via Smalltown Supersound. Leading into the release, Kelly has presented the music video (her first!) for ‘Anxi’ ft. Jenny Hval. Directed by visual artist Kim Hiorthøy, it’s a perfect compliment to the song’s steady pulse of techno-inflected thumps and bright melodies.

Before starting work on her self-produced, debut album, Kelly Lee Owens turned her keen ear towards dance music after working in a record store with techno producer Daniel Avery. Her voice and contributions can be heard on Avery’s Drone Logic. Since then, she self-released two white label 12”s, with last fall’s ‘Oleic’ EP to follow. Her self-titled solo album is first and foremost Owens’ vision — it bridges the gaps between cavernous techno, spectral pop, and Krautrock’s mechanical pulse, and it brims with exploratory wonder. It delves into a variety of moods – sadness, anxiety, and darkly shaded ecstasy – with a trippy-eyed clarity and confidence.

Pre-order Kelly Lee Owens here

Tour
Sun. March 26 – Nottingham, UK @ Rough Trade in-store | Mon. March 27 – London, UK @ Rough Trade East in-store | Thu. April 20 – Paris, FR @ Fils de Venus | Wed. May 10 – London, UK @ Pickle Factory | Thu. May 11 – Amsterdam, NL @ De School | Sat. May 13 – Brussels, BE @ Les Nuits Botanique | Wed. May 17 – Toulouse, FR @ Art Gallery (DJ Set) | Sat. June 3 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound | Sun. June 11 – Paris, FR @ We Love Green Festival | Sat. July 8 – Cheshire, UK @ Jodrell Bank Observatory, Bluedot Festival | Sat. Aug. 12 – Oslo, NO @ Øya Festival | Fri. Sep. 1 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road | Wed. Nov. 1 – Sun. Nov. 5 – Reykjavik, IS @ Air Waves Festival

Contact
Twitter
Facebook
SoundCloud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 + 11 =